Speaker

Sonja Bettel, joinAT
Sonja Bettel, joinAT.

Sonja Bettel, joinATSonja Bettel is a freelancing journalist and chairwoman of Freischreiber Österreich. She works for radio station Österreich 1 and several print media. Together with Daniela Kraus, she initiated the network joinAT in 2015 in order to establish an exchange between Austrian journalists and refugees who fled to Austria and have been working in the media before. Twitter: @sonjabettel

Dominik Wurnig, Yallahdeutschland.
Dominik Wurnig, Yallah Deutschland.

Dominik Wurnig, Yallahdeutschland. Dominik Wurnig is a visual journalist from Vienna. Even as a child, he wanted to be on TV – originally as a football commentator. After a stopover in reality television, he worked primarily as a data journalist for ZiB2, ORF’s late-night news show. Working in partnership with MIZ Babelsberg and ZDF, he also created www.lobbyradar.de. Spurred by his journalism studies in New York City, he today works for Yallah Deutschland and Krautreporter in Berlin. Twitter: @DominikWurnig

David Groß, refugee.tv.
David Groß, Refugee TV.

David Groß, refugee.tv. David Groß is a cook, filmmaker and „artivist“. Originating from Salzburg, he was engaged in experimental TV productions, documentaries and art projects after his graduation in „Quality journalism“ in 2003. Wasting food was the topic he focused on from 2013 for a documentary series called „Wastecooking“, which aired first online, lateron on ORF and arte. Anti-consumption actions came along with the TV production, for instance, waste cooking in front of the Austrian parliament. 2015 he initiated refugee TV.

Barbara Eppensteiner, Okto.
Barbara Eppensteiner, Okto.

Barbara Eppensteiner, Okto. Barbara Eppensteiner has been the programme director of the participative TV channel Okto since 2005. She studied cultural sciences and mass media communication and was the director of wienXtra’s media centre. She curates junior programmes for the film festival Diagonale and is a member of the youth media commission and panel member of film festivals and competitions.

bsenad_hergic
Senad Hergić, Okto.

bsenad_hergicSenad Hergić has been the programme coordinator of the participative TV channel Okto since 2006. Prior to that, he was a tutor of media pedagogy projects at Interface, a project of Vienna’s Integration Fund. In 1992, he made his first experiences as a radio journalist in the occupied city of Sarajevo. Later he fled to Austria where he graduated in Advanced Studies at the European Journalism Academy.

Simon Kravagna, Biber.
Simon Kravagna, Biber.

bkravagnaSimon Kravagna is the founder and editor-in-chief of biber magazine. He studied political science with a minor in law and political economics at the universities of Vienna and Los Angeles (title of his dissertation: „Black dealers – white authorities. Selective prosecution of black dealers in Vienna“). As a journalist, he worked at the weekly Format and the daily Kurier. Additionally, he developed a medium for „new Austrians and their friends“: biber.

Sobhi Aksh, Biber.
Sobhi Aksh, Biber.

12991868_1084423421620895_423599132_o.png_1024_kleinSobhi Aksh is a Syrian newcomer journalist and filmmaker from Aleppo. He has been an intern at biber magazine. In Austria, he wants to study film directing here and hopes to make his dream come true: „Everyone has a chance, everything is possible.“T witter: @sobhy_196

Alexandra Stanic, Biber.
Alexandra Stanic, Biber.

12991868_1084423421620895_423599132_o.png_1024_kleinAlexandra Stanic is a journalist and blogger. She has been leading biber’s training programme since September 2015 and is responsible for the city magazine’s website. Twitter: @AlexSta_

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ebru Taşdemir, Neue Deutsche Medienmacher. Foto: M.Taşdemir.
Ebru Taşdemir, Neue Deutsche Medienmacher. Foto: M.Taşdemir.

Ebru TaşdemirEbru Taşdemir, a freelancing journalist, studied Communication Science and Turkology at Freie Universität Berlin. She is founder of “Hate Poetry”, an anti-racist poetry slam. Currently, she is part of “Neue Deutsche Medienmacher” (“German newcomer journalists”). There, together with her colleague Rebecca Roth, she coordinates a trainee programme for young journalists who came or fled to Germany. Twitter: @etasdem

Mohammad Keivandarian
Mohammad Keivandarian

Mohammad Keivandarian_bMohammad Keivandarian has been in Vienna since fall 2015. Originally from Iran, he studied at the University of Isfahan. He holds several certificates of different Iranian film festivals. Among other things, he was responsible for the audio and radio center of Soureh University and worked as an expert for the office of art and culture of the University of Teheran. He currently works on his new documentary “No Paradise”.

Yilmaz Gülüm, News.
Yilmaz Gülüm, News.

b_Yilmaz GülümYilmaz Gülüm is a political editor at the Austrian weekly „News“. He studied communication science, international development and political science. Besides, he is a lecturerer at the University of Vienna where he also heads the watchblog Kobuk. Twitter: @YilmazGulum

Ramin Siawash
Ramin Siawash

Speaker

Sonja Bettel, joinAT
Sonja Bettel, JoinAT.

Sonja Bettel, joinAT Sonja Bettel ist freie Journalistin und Vorsitzende von Freischreiber Österreich. Sie arbeitet für Radio Ö1 und verschiedene Printmedien. Ende 2015 hat sie gemeinsam mit Daniela Kraus vom fjum das Netzwerk joinAT für die Vernetzung österreichischer JournalistInnen mit nach Österreich geflüchteten Medienmenschen initiiert. Twitter: @sonjabettel

Dominik Wurnig, Yallahdeutschland.
Dominik Wurnig, Yallah Deutschland.

Dominik Wurnig, Yallahdeutschland. Dominik Wurnig ist visueller Journalist aus Wien. Schon als Kind wollte er zum Fernsehen – zunächst als Fußballkommentator. Nach einem Zwischenstopp beim Reality-Fernsehen, arbeitete er zunächst als Datenjournalist bei der Spätnachrichtensendung ZiB2 beim ORF. Gemeinsam mit dem MIZ Babelsberg und dem ZDF hat er auch schon www.lobbyradar.de gestaltet. Angefeuert durch sein Journalismusstudium in New York, versucht er visuelles Storytelling nun auch bei www.krautreporter.de umzusetzen. Twitter: @DominikWurnig

David Groß, Refugee TV.
David Groß, Refugee TV.

David Groß, Refugee TV. David Groß ist Koch, Filmemacher und „Artivist“. Experimentelle TV-Produktionen, Dokumentarfilme und Kunstprojekte beschäftigten den Salzburger nach Abschluss seines Studiums „Qualitätsjournalismus“ 2003. Zum Thema Lebensmittelverschwendung realisierte er ab 2013 seine Doku-Serie „Wastecooking“, erst im Netz, dann auch für ORF und arte. Er begleitete die Sendung mit konsumkritischen Aktionen wie einem Resteverkochen vor dem Parlament in Wien. 2015 initiierte er refugee TV.

Barbara Eppensteiner, Okto.
Barbara Eppensteiner, Okto.

Barbara Eppensteiner, Okto. Barbara Eppensteiner studierte Kulturwissenschaften und Medienkommunikation und leitete fast 10 Jahre lang das wienXtra-medienzentrum. Sie kuratierte Nachwuchsprogramme für die Diagonale und ist Mitglied der Jugendmedienkommission des bmbwk sowie immer wieder als Jurymitglied bei Filmfestivals und -wettbewerben gefragt. Barbara Eppensteiner ist seit 2005 Programmintendantin von Okto.

bsenad_hergic
Senad Hergić, Okto.

bsenad_hergicSenad Hergić ist seit 2006 ist Programmkoordinator beim partizipativen Fernsehsender Okto. Davor leitete er als Projektbetreuer bei Interface, einem Jugendprojekt des Wiener Integrationsfonds, medienpädagogische Projekte. Schon 1992 machte er erste Erfahrungen als Radio-Journalist im belagerten Sarajewo. Später floh er nach Österreich und schloss sein Studium als Master of Advanced Studies an der Europäischen Journalismus-Akademie ab.

Simon Kravagna, Biber.
Simon Kravagna, Biber.

bkravagnaSimon Kravagna ist Gründer und Chefredakteur des Magazins biber. Er studierte Politikwissenschaften an den Universitäten Wien und Los Angeles (Dissertationstitel: „Schwarze Dealer – weiße Behörden. Selektive Strafverfolgung von schwarzen Dealern in Wien“). Als Journalist arbeitete er bei Format und Kurier. Nebenbei bastelte er an einem Medium für „neue Österreicher und ihre Freunde“: biber.

Sobhi Aksh, Biber.
Sobhi Aksh, Biber.

12991868_1084423421620895_423599132_o.png_1024_kleinSobhi Aksh ist syrischer Newcomer-Journalist und Filmemacher aus Aleppo. Er absolviert derzeit ein Praktikum bei biber. In Österreich will er Regie studieren und hofft, seine Träume wahrmachen zu können, denn: „Jeder hat eine Chance, alles ist möglich.“ Twitter: @sobhy_196

Alexandra Stanic, Biber.
Alexandra Stanic, Biber.

12991868_1084423421620895_423599132_o.png_1024_kleinAlexandra Stanic ist Journalistin und Bloggerin. Sie leitet die biber-Akademie seit September 2015 und ist für den Online-Auftritt des Stadtmagazins verantwortlich. Twitter: @AlexSta_

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ebru Taşdemir, Neue Deutsche Medienmacher. Foto: M.Taşdemir.
Ebru Taşdemir, Neue Deutsche Medienmacher. Foto: M.Taşdemir.

Ebru TaşdemirEbru Taşdemir, freie Journalistin, studierte Publizistik und Turkologie an der FU Berlin und ist unter anderem die Erfinderin des Formats „Hate Poetry“, einer antirassistischen Leseshow. Aktuell arbeitet sie bei den „Neuen Deutschen Medienmachern“ und betreut dort mit ihrer Kollegin Rebecca Roth das Traineeprogramm für Nachwuchsjournalist*innen mit Einwanderungsgeschichte und geflüchtete Kolleg*innen. Twitter: @etasdem

Mohammad Keivandarian
Mohammad Keivandarian

Mohammad Keivandarian_bMohammad Keivandarian lebt seit Herbst 2015 in Wien. Der gebürtige Iraner studierte vor seiner Flucht an der Universität Isfahan und kann zahlreiche Zertifikate von iranischen Filmfestivals vorweisen. Er war unter anderem für das Audio- und Radiocenter der Universität von Soureh verantwortlich und arbeitete von 2008 bis 2012 als Experte für das Kunst- und Kulturbüro der Universität Teheran. Derzeit arbeitet er an seinem Dokumentarfilm „No Paradise“.

Yilmaz Gülüm, News.
Yilmaz Gülüm, News.

b_Yilmaz GülümYilmaz Gülüm ist Politikredakteur beim Wochenmagazin „News“. Er studierte Publizistik, Internationale Entwicklung und Politikwissenschaft. Daneben ist er Lektor an der Universität Wien und leitet dort den Medienwatchblog Kobuk. Twitter: @YilmazGulum

Ramin Siawash
Ramin Siawash