Organizing Team

Jonas Paintner
Jonas Paintner

Jonas PaintnerJonas Paintner studies communication sciences at the University of Vienna. He co-initiated the “joinAT” project, connecting journalists and people working in the media – whether they have been refugees or not. Jonas coordinates the joinAT conference. Together with journalists who had to flee he works on research and multimedia projects concerning the topic “Before and after being a refugee: Working in the media.” Twitter: @JonasPaintner

Patricia Käfer
Patricia Käfer. Foto: Patricia Käfer.

Patricia KäferPatricia Käfer studied journalism and worked for the Austrian daily Die Presse as an editor in the arts and entertainment department. Since 2010, she has been a project coordinator at Medienhaus Wien, being responsible mainly for the Master’s programme in „International Media Innovation Management“. Currently, she is on sabbatical leave and works as a freelance journalist and project manager. Twitter: @patriciakaefer

Fritz Hausjell
Fritz Hausjell. Foto: Miel Satrapa.

Fritz HausjellFritz Hausjell is vice-director of the Department of Communication Science at the University of Vienna. He habilitated with his dissertation on „Austrian journalism in exile 1933/34-1945“. Furthermore, he is president of the “Austrian Society for Exile Studies” in whose book series on „Exile research today“ a reader on „Trafficking, smuggling, helping. Flight – rescue or exploitation?“ (eds. Gabriele Anderl/Simon Usaty) was published only recently. Twitter: @Hausjell

Sonja Bettel, joinAT
Sonja Bettel

Sonja Bettel, joinATSonja Bettel is a freelancing journalist and chairwoman of Freischreiber Österreich. She works for radio station Österreich 1 and several print media. Together with Daniela Kraus, she initiated the network joinAT in 2015 in order to establish an exchange between Austrian journalists and refugees who fled to Austria and have been working in the media before. Twitter: @sonjabettel

 

 

 

 

 

Daniela Kraus
Daniela Kraus

Daniela KrausDaniela Kraus is the director of fjum_forum for journalism and media vienna. Prior to that, she gained experience in journalism, consulting, application-oriented research and conception of further education and study programmes. As a founding member and managing partner of Medienhaus Wien she focused on curricular development for media-related programmes, such as „International Media Innovation Management“. Twitter: @Frau_Kraus

Leo Lettmayr
Leo Lettmayr

Leo LettmayrLeo Lettmayr is a Journalism Student at the FH Vienna of the WKW. Coming from the social sciences he is new to the field of journalism. He has joined the conference team, because he believes that the voices of the refugees should be heard. Twitter: @LLettmayr

Ricarda Kargl
Ricarda Kargl

Ricarda KarglRicarda studies in the University of Vienna’s Master’s programme in mass media and communication science. For a research project, she deals with the topic of refugee journalists and their working conditions in Austria. Apart from her studies, she works in a Social Media agency, where she leads the editorial department. Ricarda is 23 years old and lives in Vienna. She is a social media manager for the joinAT conference. Twitter: @RicardaKargl

Marlene Kersten
Marlene Kersten

Marlene Kersten Marlene Kersten, 24, studies communication sciences at the University of Vienna and is a passionate scout. She says: „Only if you know different cultures, you can understand them.“
She is a social media manager for the joinAT conference.

Katharina Ramchen
Katharina Ramchen

Katharina RamchenKatharina Ramchen graduated in Arabic studies, Oriental philology, Russian and Central Asian studies. Since then, she has been working in the fields of culture, media and social work. Currently, she studies in the FHW – University of Applied Sciences’ Master’s programme „Journalism & New Media“, in parallel to that she works at fjum_forum for journalism and media. Twitter: @dramchen

Jehad Nour Eddin Hussari
Jehad Nour Eddin Hussari

bJehad Nour Eddin HussariJehad Nour Eddin Hussari is a Syrian radio and TV journalist and news presenter from Aleppo. At joinAT he currently occupies himself with a project at the community station Okto. In April he took part in a discussion at the University of Applied Sciences Vienna in which he shared some of his experiences of being a journalist in his home country.

Elisabeth Spiegelberger
Elisabeth Spiegelberger

Elisabeth SpiegelbergerElisabeth Spiegelberger studies communication science in the Master’s program of Vienna University, where she’s working on the topic of „Refugees and the media“ as part of her research. For joinAT she acts as a social media manager.

Emanuel Stadler
Emanuel Stadler

bEmanuel StadlerEmanuel Stadler studies Computer Science at the University of Vienna and works at the advertising agency text-alpin. He supports the joinAT website technically. Twitter: @emanuelst

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vera Deleja-Hotko
Vera Deleja-Hotko

bVera Deleja-HotkoVera Deleja-Hotko studies communication sciences and transcultural communication for the languages Spanish and French. In the last months, she organized beneficial events for the NGOs Amnesty International Austria and Tailoring Togo. To her it is important to think beyond the traditional meaning of culture and to set the focus on the most important common ground, humanity. Twitter: @_vera_dh

Gabriele Scherndl
Gabriele Scherndl

Gabriele Scherndl studies communication science at the University of Vienna. As a media enthusiast, she has gained experience in different projects. She likes to write and read about topics like tolerance, sustainability and multimediality. At joinAT, she’s part of the website-team. Twitter: @Ela_Scherndl

Simon Tyrra
Simon Tyrra

Simon Tyrra studies journalism at the University of Vienna and is in charge of joinAT’s website. He has been living in Vienna for two years and is convinced that the dialogue with refugees is more important than ever before. Twitter: @simonty7

Yassin Hawa
Yassin Hawa

byassin HawwaAs a filmmaker and screen writing student, Yassin Hawa worked in a Lebanese production house called Media Yard production. He also was as a freelance editor and radio host. Currently, Yassin works in several media cooperation projects of the JoinAT network and on a time lapse short movie. He looks forward to being a filmmaker and professional editor. Twitter: @yassinovic89

Helena Velaj
Helena Velaj

Helena VelajHelena Velaj, 20, studies communication science. At the austrian journalism days she got to know about joinAT and has been a team member ever since. For the upcoming conference, she organizes the panel discussion.

Nawaz Khan
Nawaz Khan

bnawazNawaz Khan graduated in English Language and Literature. He is the author of a book, interested in filmmaking and worked as a senior journalist in Lahore, Pakistan, for the last 25 years.

Farhat Nawaz
Farhat Nawaz

bfarhatFarhat Nawaz is an artist (oil and water colour), sculptor (fiberglas, wood), poetess, dress designer, and interior designer and loves photography and making documentary movies. She got her education from National College of Arts in Lahore, Pakistan.

Organisationsteam

Jonas Paintner
Jonas Paintner

Jonas PaintnerJonas Paintner studiert Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Universität Wien. Er hat das Projekt joinAT zur Vernetzung von Medienschaffenden mit und ohne Fluchthintergrund in Österreich mitinitiiert und koordiniert die Organisation der joinAT-Konferenz. Gemeinsam mit geflüchteten Journalist*innen schreibt er an einer Forschungsarbeit und realisiert Multimedia-Projekte zu „Journalismus vor und nach der Flucht.“ Twitter: @JonasPaintner

Patricia Käfer
Patricia Käfer. Foto: Patricia Käfer.

Patricia Käfer Patricia Käfer hat Journalismus studiert und war ab 2005 für die Tageszeitung Die Presse tätig, zuletzt als Medienredakteurin. Seit 2010 ist sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Medienhaus Wien, um dort das Master-Programm „International Media Innovation Management“ zu koordinieren. Derzeit befindet sie sich in Bildungskarenz, während der sie freiberuflich journalistisch und an mehreren Projekten arbeitet. Twitter: @patriciakaefer

Fritz Hausjell
Fritz Hausjell. Foto: Miel Satrapa.

Fritz Hausjell Fritz Hausjell ist stv. Vorstand des Instituts für Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Universität Wien. Er hat mit dem Thema „Österreichischer Exiljournalismus 1933/34-1945“ habilitiert. Er ist u. a. Präsident der „Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Exilforschung“ (öge), in deren Buchreihe „Exilforschung heute“ soeben der Sammelband „Schleppen, Schleusen, Helfen. Flucht zwischen Rettung und Ausbeutung“ erschien (Hg. Gabriele Anderl/Simon Usaty). Twitter: @Hausjell

Sonja Bettel, joinAT
Sonja Bettel

Sonja Bettel, joinAT Sonja Bettel ist freie Journalistin und Vorsitzende von Freischreiber Österreich. Sie arbeitet für Radio Ö1 und verschiedene Printmedien. Ende 2015 hat sie gemeinsam mit Daniela Kraus vom fjum das Netzwerk joinAT für die Vernetzung österreichischer JournalistInnen mit nach Österreich geflüchteten Medienmenschen initiiert. Twitter: @sonjabettel

 

 

 

 

 

Daniela Kraus
Daniela Kraus

Daniela Kraus Daniela Kraus ist Geschäftsführerin des fjum_forum journalismus und medien wien. Davor sammelte sie Erfahrung in Journalismus, Beratung, praxisorientierter Forschung sowie in der Konzeption von Aus- und Weiterbildung als Gründungsgesellschafterin & Geschäftsführerin von Medienhaus Wien; fachlicher Schwerpunkt u.a. Curriculumsentwicklung für den Medienbereich, u.a. im Entwicklungsteam für das Executive Masterprogramm International Media Innovation Management. Twitter: @Frau_Kraus

Leo Lettmayr
Leo Lettmayr

Leo LettmayrLeo Lettmayr studiert im MA-Studiengang an der FH Wien der WKW Journalismus. Der Quereinsteiger aus dem sozialwissenschaftlichen Bereich arbeitet bei der Konferenz mit, weil er denkt, dass die Geflüchteten Stimmen haben, die gehört werden sollten. Twitter: @LLettmayr

Ricarda Kargl
Ricarda Kargl

Ricarda Kargl Ricarda studiert Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft im Magister an der Universität Wien. Im Rahmen einer Forschungsarbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit geflüchteten JournalistInnen und ihren Arbeitsbedingungen in Österreich. Nebenbei arbeitet sie in einer Social-Media-Agentur, wo sie die Redaktionsabteilung leitet. Ricarda ist 23 Jahre alt und kommt aus Wien. Für die joinAT-Konferenz arbeitet sie als Social-Media-Managerin mit. Twitter: @RicardaKargl

Marlene Kersten
Marlene Kersten

Marlene Kersten Marlene Kersten, 24, Studentin der Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaften und passionierte Pfadfinderin, findet: „Nur wenn man verschiedenen Kulturen kennt, kann man sie verstehen.“ An der joinAT-Konferenz arbeitet sie als Social-Media-Beauftragte mit.

Katharina Ramchen
Katharina Ramchen

Katharina RamchenKatharina Ramchen ist seit ihrem Abschluss in Arabistik & Orientalischer Philologie sowie Russistik und Zentralasienwissenschaften in der Sozial-, Kultur- und Medienarbeit tätig. Neben ihrem Masterstudium „Journalismus & Neue Medien“ an der FH Wien arbeitet sie am fjum_forum journalismus und medien wien. Twitter: @dramchen

Jehad Nour Eddin Hussari
Jehad Nour Eddin Hussari

bJehad Nour Eddin HussariJehad Nour Eddin Hussari ist syrischer Radio- und TV-Journalist, Moderator und Nachrichtensprecher aus Aleppo. Im joinAT-Netzwerk ist er derzeit u. a. mit einem Projekt bei Okto beschäftigt. Im April hat er an einer Diskussion an der FH Wien teilgenommen und von den nicht nur beruflichen Schikanen erzählt, denen er in seinem Heimatland ausgesetzt war.

Elisabeth Spiegelberger
Elisabeth Spiegelberger

Elisabeth SpiegelbergerElisabeth Spiegelberger studiert Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaften im Magister an der Universität Wien, wo sie sich im Rahmen ihrer Forschungsarbeit mit „Medien und Flüchtlingen“ auseinandersetzt. Für joinAT arbeitet sie als Social-Media-Managerin.

Emanuel Stadler
Emanuel Stadler

bEmanuel StadlerEmanuel Stadler studiert Medieninformatik an der Universität Wien und ist bei der Werbeagentur text-alpin beschäftigt. An der joinAT-Website arbeitet er als technische Unterstützung mit. Twitter: @emanuelst

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vera Deleja-Hotko
Vera Deleja-Hotko

bVera Deleja-HotkoVera Deleja-Hotko studiert Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft sowie Transkulturelle Kommunikation mit der Sprachkombination Französisch und Spanisch. In den vergangenen Monaten organisierte sie bereits Benefizveranstaltungen für die NGOs Amnesty International Austria und Tailoring Togo. Ihr ist es wichtig, in einer bunten Gesellschaft über den traditionellen Kulturbegriff hinaus zu denken und der größten Gemeinsamkeit, dem Mensch sein, die eigentliche Priorität zu verleihen. Twitter: @_vera_dh

Gabriele Scherndl
Gabriele Scherndl

Gabriele Scherndl studiert Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaft an der Universität Wien. Begeistert für die Branche sammelt sie Erfahrung bei der Mitarbeit in unterschiedlichen Redaktionen und Projekten. Sie schreibt und liest gerne über Themen wie Toleranz, Nachhaltigkeit und Multimedialität. Bei joinAT ist sie Teil des Website-Teams. Twitter: @Ela_Scherndl

Simon Tyrra
Simon Tyrra

Simon Tyrra studiert Publizistik- und Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Universität Wien und ist bei joinAT verantwortlich für den Web-Auftritt. Der Wahl-Wiener lebt seit 2 Jahren in Österreich und ist sich sicher, dass der Dialog mit den Geflüchteten wichtiger denn je ist. Twitter: @simonty7

Yassin Hawa
Yassin Hawa

byassin HawwaYassin Hawa ist Filmemacher, studierte im Fach Drehbuch und arbeitete für die Libanesische Produktionsfirma Media Yard. Er war außerdem freiberuflicher Cutter und Radiomoderator. Derzeit arbeitet er in mehreren Kooperationsprojekten von JoinAT mit und an einem Kurzfilm. Er sieht sich selbst als künftigen Filmemacher. Twitter: @yassinovic89

Helena Velaj
Helena Velaj

Helena VelajHelena Velaj, 20, studiert Publizistik-und Kommunikationswissenschaft. Bei den Österreichischen Journalismustagen erfuhr sie von joinAT und ist seitdem Teil des Teams. Für die Konferenz organisierte sie die Podiumsdiskussion.

Nawaz Khan
Nawaz Khan

bnawazNawaz Khan hat einen Master-Abschluss in Englischer Sprache und Literatur. Er ist Buchautor, interessiert sich fürs Filmemachen und hat in den vergangenen 25 Jahren als Tageszeitungsjournalist in Lahore, Pakistan, gearbeitet.

Farhat Nawaz
Farhat Nawaz

bfarhatFarhat Nawaz ist Künstlerin (Öl, Aquarell), Bildhauerin (Fiberglas, Holz), Dichterin, Designerin; außerdem fotografiert sie und macht Dokumentarfilme. Sie hat am National College of Arts in Lahore, Pakistan, studiert.